Improve my OHs riding position!

juliecwuk

Mar 2, 2006
Wolverhampton

advise please!

background - OH has dodgy hips, with reduced flexibility. This was prob about the 4th time riding in about 3 years

Horse - is a forward going hunter!

mods - please keep in here cos my hubby would be embarrassed if he saw me asking for advise!

Hands look a bit high, i am no expert but "keep your hands lower down and even" my RI would be shouting ... barking...or whatever it is she does... lol

Last edited:
My OH has ridden approximately 6 times in his entire life.... 3 of those on my old cob mare, once he had a "sit-upon" on Roo and twice on Jack. Yes, his position leaves a lot to be desired BUT he has incredibly soft hands, is confident and manages to stay put. I'm so delighted that he takes an interest I would never dare to criticise his position... although he maintains that it's all to do with "protection of his crown jewels" :biggrin:

Dom1stRide008.jpg

Dom1stRide005.jpg

Dom1stRide004.jpg

What a dude in his 'shades' :bounce::bounce::bounce:
Dom1stRide002.jpg

Dom1stRide014.jpg

Awww they are great piccies, love the fact he is not worried about his position and is relaxed... probably best way to ride.. he could teach me a thing or too...and i can see how relaxed his hands look... really gentle like he is holding a fly bless him ;-)

I would say let him get back on a horse and find his balance (which looks very good tbh). Then start the fine tuning the hands as horse does not look stressed. OK in one shot his reins are a little loose and in another his hands are too high but her has a lot of good points- he has a deep seat with heels down and is sympathetic to the horse. His contact looks fine in other shots though thumbs need to be on top of the reins- explain the tray of beer as that worked for my OH!

Is what I did with my hubby just hints when needed. He has a natural rapport with Kizzy!