Insurance for older horses!!

Piaffe

Banned
Dec 20, 2001
Surrey,England
Visit site
I will try not to rant and rave - but I've just recently had cause to claim on my horse insurance, only to be told that my horse is too 'old' to be covered for that particular injury.

When I telephoned the company in question to ask exactly what my horse was covered for (under vets fees), I was told 'visible external injury'. when I questioned this further, I was told that he'd be covered for cuts!!!!!! But not if they got infected! - WHAT IS THE POINT OF BEING INSURED FOR VETS FEES????

I've been paying my premiums for six years and never claimed. my horse is over 15 yrs old, so considered a higher risk. I am not even covered for major surgery (which was a main concern of mine). I know I should have third party cover, so will have to continue with insurance.

Can anyone out there recommend an insurance company with a little more sympathy than my current one, for older horses? I was so annoyed I wrote a strong but polite letter to the company, as I felt that they were condoning unnecessary euthanasia of older horses for those owners who could not possibly afford to pay vets fees for treatment, as they weren't covered under their insurance policy.

I now have a rather large bill, which luckily I can pay, but why should I when I've been paying my premiums for so long!!!!

any advice or suggestions, recommendations would be appreciated, as I will not be renewing with my current company.

Piaffe

My horse hit '30 something' this year which means he is not even covered for external cuts ! However, I too have kept him insured in case he gets out of his field and something happens. Make sure they know you only want 3rd party liability as its much cheaper. He does not go anywhere, so tack etc (yes he still gets ridden occasionally) is covered under the household policy.