Is an Ebb & Flow of Confidence normal?

Debutante

Oct 18, 2001
Canada
Visit site
It amazes me how learning to ride can be such an up and down emotional roller-coaster. Just before Christmas I was feeling on top of the world, like I was making great progress. Now, every lesson seems worse than the last – I’m nervous, not mentally focussed, physically exhausted and out-of-breath, totally uncoordinated, full of excuses, and a general clueless mess. I’m constantly forgetting all the details that used to be second nature. Now, (for the first time in my life) I’m even beginning to question whether I have future on horseback. :eek: The thing is, it’s not like I had a particular ‘scary incident’ that triggered this loss of confidence and ability – it just happened. I’m hoping I’ll pull myself together and come out of it soon. I’ve been horse-shopping for the past several months but at the moment I feel like I shouldn’t even be allowed on the pony rides at the zoo! ;) Has anyone else been through this foolishness? What’s wrong with me? Do I just need a good slap? :D

Cheers,
Debutante

I'm right there with you. Im feeling down right DUMB now. :rolleyes:

If you check out my recent threads, you'll see what Im talking about!!

Good luck on that horse shopping business..... :D

I hear ya

Hi Tootsie!
Sorry to hear you're going through a bit of a rough spell too with "Mr. Attitude". ;) Maybe it's the weather. At first I thought maybe I'd just gotten lazy over Christmas and was finding it hard to get back to work, but now I'm not so sure.
I've been following your ups and downs (especially your Desperate Times thread) but have not had enough experience to interject anything of value. :rolleyes: