Join Up - Tips Appreciated

doolally_tap

Jun 3, 2007
My plan was to ride my part-loan pony tomorrow morning, but the wind is really bad at the moment and I'd like to avoid a fall just before Christmas!! :banghead: However he really needs the exercise...

The owner said if it's still windy, just to turn him out in the outdoor school and 'chase him around for a bit'. So I thought it could be an ideal opportunity to do a bit of join up with him.

I've never done it before, and not even sure if it's do-able in the wind... so any tips would be gladly received.

Are there any could videos you could link me to? Or just advice in general would be great :biggrin:

Last edited:
I've got mixed feelings abotu join-up. I did it in an open field when my loan horse charged me. It worked exactly as the books suggest - he circled, looking grumpy, presenting his quarters etc. Then he licked and chewed and dropped his head. When I took on a submissive posture he stopped and faced me. When i invited him in with my body langauge he slowly approached me. Then he followed me round like a labrador :mstickle:

His behaviour improved so I became a bit of a fan.

When I got Charlie I decided to do it again to 'improve bonding' wihout having any clear idea as to what join up would be communicating to him. He was distressed and bewildered by it. In retrospect he just seemed to be thinking 'what have I done??' when I drove him away initially. I quickly realised that he did not want 'permission' to be in my herd. He just wanted to get away from me and stay away as my behaviour made no sense to him.

So my advice would be think about what join up would mean to the horse. If it's a nervous horse it might just seem like you are punishing him for no reason.

I do free-schooling with Charlie quite often, and that is good fun, but I won't ever try join up with him again. :)