lesson today - new instructor - nervous

grandmarider

Oct 6, 2015
i have been riding for 11 years and i am still a very nervous rider. my reason is to bond with my daughter and granddaughter who both ride. I had a instructor that i thought was very patient and could read me and the horses very well. He became ill and is no longer working and i had 2 other instructors the past couple times and i didn't feel as comfortable. They were young and i did explain that i am a nervous rider, but i felt like the horse i usually ride ran off with me. She was really trotting fast and wanted to canter. When i cantered and i couldn't get her to stop. My old instructor would have had me get the horse calm. The instructor got on and said since the horse is only rode once a week (except therapeutic lesssons that she needed to have an experienced rider get on. She had to ride her around a few times to calm her. I felt the other instructor could tell how the horse was and have me walk trot to have her listen. It was somewhat of a step backwards for me. They are trying me with a different instructor today as i spoke to the manager and explained that i'm older and i need a patient instructor who can help with my issues. I'm sure the horse can feel my nerves too. They are going to try me on another horse today that they said might be a better fit. I wish to ride with no fear and confidence. I do remind myself that there aren't many grannies out there riding so im doing better than most - but its scarey for me.