Livery

LinzUK

Feb 3, 2002
London UK
Visit site
Hi everyone,

As a complete beginner I don't have a clue what the different types of livery are, what should be included in them etc...

Would some kind soul please explain?

I am considering looking for a share...I guess I'd be able to go 2 or 3 times a week, can someone give an idea of what I should pay?

Thanks a lot!

Best regards,

Lindsay
London/Kent border, UK

Firstly, I would say that most of the time sharing is a very good option and an excellent way of gaining experience around horses. However, you will need to gain much more riding experience before someone will let you share their horse. Try to gain as much experience at your riding school before even considering looking for a share. some riding schools to 'share a pony/horse' weekends and short stable management courses, which are excellent and teach you loads!

There are several types of livery:

1. Grass Livery - your horse only has access to a field - most yards won't let you bring the horse onto the yard with this type of livery and everything has to be done in the field (feeding, grooming, tacking up etc) which is fine in the summer, but NOT in the winter!! It is, however, the cheapest.

2. DIY - you rent a stable and turnout for your horse, but do everything yourself. Some yards will provide supplies for you to buy off them, but most places you have to find your own suppliers. This is the second cheapest.

3. Part Livery - everything is done for you except riding of your horse and tack cleaning. Quite expensive, depending on the area you live in. It includes the cost of all feed and bedding.

4. Full Livery - most expensive where everything is included and done for you, including excercising your horse.

Hope this explains about livery!!!

Well I'm keen to learn more, I just can't afford to. I only work part-time.

I guess it'll all have to go on hold until I'm living in the middle of nowhere and lessons are affordable.