my first lesson in ten years

yankeeshannon

Apr 13, 2004
New York
Visit site
I had my first lesson in over ten years on saturday, and today,
i cannot walk! the trainer had me posting trot for about 20 minutes and when i got off my legs were like rubber. Does anyone have any suggestions for strengthing these muscle groups? I hike and swim alot but i guess im not in as good of shape as I thought!! :(

nope, not a gym member. No time, i have a full time job and a house and a seven year old. I need something i can do in the evenings at home. OUCH!! I just want to be able to go to my next lesson without the fear of the next-day agony. I expected some soreness, but not to this degree. IM getting old!:mad:

Ooh, I know how you feel!

I started riding again in December after a break of over 10 years. I asked a similar question to yours, and got some really helpful responses which were:
  • Trampolining (there's a big one in my bosses back garden!)
  • Cycling
  • Lots of no stirrups work (especially on a lunge, if possible)
  • Jogging
  • Rowing machine
I've copied these (edited) posts from the thread I started (which was called Strengthening legs (mine)! under the Training of the Rider category):

(From TBEventer2002, edited) As I am a hunter/jumper, I am very adament about having a stable lower leg. Since you are dressage (and I know two types of dressage people: those that rely soley on their seat and could care less how high their heels are or where their lower legs are and those that work on getting that wonderful long stable leg), I will have to break you into the world of jumping for just a minute.

LOTS and LOTS of no stirrups work and two-point jumping position. You can do all that in your dressage saddle, don't worry -- in fact, since it is harder in a dressage saddle, you should get very good at it!