New boots???

Old but trying!

Jan 15, 2003
UK
Visit site
I am very new to riding, only 3 lessons so far! I am still clinging on for dear life.

I have just bought some Aquacat Record boots ( I did ask for jodhpur boots) and now that I have got them home I am not sure if the heel is high enough. What is the difference between a jodhpur boot and a paddock boot? I have looked on the internet and the record boot appears in both categories on different web-sites. Have I made an expensive mistake? They do seem comfortable but I obvoiusly haven't ridden in them yet.

Any advice gratefully received.

Paddock boots/Jodphur are basically the same thing - short boots used for riding. I've noticed paddock boots tend to be lace-up while jodphur boots can be slipped on. Typically the heel should be no more than 1" high on English riding boots. This thread from the general section gets into a little more detail
http://www.newrider.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=16228
They sound fine to me - the really important thing is whether they are comfortable or not!

Last edited:
Well - It seems to be out a fashion at the moment , but I was taught that boots for riding had to be safe. This includes...

1. no laces or ither things that can help a foot get caught up in a stirrup.
2. Smooth-soled ie not deep ridges like wellies or muckers
3. A defined heel (again unlike muckers)
4. A metal thingy - can never remember the name of this - Ariat boots have a y-shaped one - supporting the underneath of the foot.
5. Not too wide for the stirrup iron.

THEN - comfortable. I use Elite Thoroughbred boots, and Mountain Horse joddy boots. But the mountain horse ones are rather wide.

the metal thing is called a shank and is there to stabilise the sole making it more comfortable and safe - ie the sole doesn't collapse away from where the ball of the foot is supported by the stirrup.