omg we did it - over the moon!

joosie

lifelong sufferer of restless brain syndrome
Oct 28, 2004
New Zealand
I'm in my 4th year of showjumping now and although I'm not massively competitive about it - I'm more concerned about how I ride than the actual result - I won't lie and say I have never dreamed about how fantastic it would be to win something. But I never actually thought it would happen, as affiliated classes are big here (anything between 50 and 90 is the norm) and the standard of competition is quite high, there are some fantastic riders on the Amateur circuit and some seriously cracking horses too. Jam has a long and successful competition history with my boss, but I am not particularly great at jumping and also struggle with my confidence at times, and often the standard of Jam's performance far outweighs the quality of my own riding! But we've come a long way in these 4 years and put in so much work, I have finally started to feel like we have got a proper partnership going, and we have managed to get a few good results here and there - two 7ths, a 5th and a 4th as individuals, and a 2nd in a team competition. This year we've had a pretty cool start to the season, with two 3rds in 1.05m classes with over 70 entries each. I didn't think it could get much better than that... and then yesterday we only went and won :eek::eek::D