online ask a doctor options

newforest

Mar 15, 2008
Yes or no?
Has anyone used this service.
My guess is you can ask a question to someone who is actually a qualified doctor if you work long hours and you get a reply, instantly I guess.

Or in my case if you have a question and you don't want to see your own gp and are trying to avoid them. (my gp is brilliant BTW, this is a new avoidance feeling)

I have used it once. Reply came back in very bad English and wasnt very clear at all. I ended up ringing 111 and speaking to an out of hours GP who was much more helpful and trustworthy.

So I'd have to say no!

I'd be very wary. I haven't actually asked a question but I have read answers already given to people with similar problems, and they range from vague to generalised to dangerous, (in my opinion; I'm not a doctor but I do have a science background so have some idea).

Do you have a GP led health centre near you that you'd be willing to go to and see an unfamiliar GP? If not I'd be inclined to google whatever condition/problem I was experiencing and looking for a registered charity support line. They will usually advise going to the GP in the end but at least you have a chance of getting an answer to your question first so it is your choice what you do next.

(I avoid going to my GP at all costs, despite them being brilliant, for lots of reasons from my past, so I can start to understand where you are coming from).

No never, I don't trust my health to an unknown person on line. Why not phone nhs direct? They may be able to help.

I don't think I'd trust them. Our surgery now has an online patient access set up where you can order repeat medication and book online appointments. I am not sure but I think there might be an email facility and a health care professional will reply. But I don't think its for specific questions and answers.