Prelim 4 or Prelim 10 2002

NoviceNic

Sexy Dressage Pony
May 7, 2003
On my horses back...
Visit site
My local Show is having a Give it a Go Dressage day soon. So I thought I may have a try. But I am a complete novice to tests. Are Prelims the lowest level of dressage tests??? What is required of both tests? And which one would be easiest to a novice?? :eek:

Prelim 4 is easiest IMO, i've got both the tests if you want to know more about them, basically prelim 10 has more complex movements like half circles back to the track and cantering across the diagonal whereas prelim 4 is a bit more basic i find.

Oh and yes prelims are the lowest level of dressage tests apart from walk and trot tests :)

Give it a go :D

Go for ittt :D

I've ridden Prelim 4 and I quite like it, nothing too hard to remember and nothing too challenging...just what I like :p

Not tried Prelim 10 so couldn't compare.

If you want any other details, just PM me :)

I much prefer p10 to p4, it sounds a bit more complicated but seems to ride much more nicely. I hate all the centre line work in p4, it really shows if the horse isn't totally straight & makes for a lot of tight turns if you're on a big horse. I actually chose to ride a novice test rather than p4 & we probably made a better job of it.

Dressage tests start at Prelim, novice,elementary etc. The lower the number the easier the test................

P10 doesn't have counter canter - no prelim test does! It asks for canter across a diagonal but you come back to trot on reaching the track (or maybe before, I don't have a copy to hand as I type) so you're never asked for conter canter & it's often easier to get a good trot transition as the horse is already asking to come back to trot as the easiest option :p