Reassurance wanted

Loveslayla

Dec 30, 2019
My 11yld old cob has got me a bit worried. I’m new to horse owner ship so I’m like a neurotic parent..
recently changed into his summer grazing... eating well.
Very trumpy... and windy... seems to be pooing ok.. slightly sloppy... hanging his willy out More often... no signs of sores on his todger, weeing ok... drinking ok.
When hubby and daughter went this am he was laid down and let my daughter approach him laid down... he did get up and they said he seemed ok... a bit subdued but eating etc
Does seem to have some foot stomping and trying to itch his belly/willy...

Obviously I’m concerned re colic

Spoke to yard owner yesterday as in the yard as had farrier and and said bout him being very windy and she said it’s prob the new grass and didn’t seem colicky

Just wanting more advise and reassurance

Xx

Most likely explanation is he feels like he's had a big Sunday lunch and that the second helping of pudding perhaps wasn't the greatest idea!

I would be wary of a cob (ok any horse, but cobs and natives in particular) being out on good grazing though. They usually don't need it, put far more weight on than is healthy, and there's the risk of laminitis. I don't know what your yard set up is, but can you restrict his access to good grass or see if someone with a poorer doer would like to graze it down first?

Most likely explanation is he feels like he's had a big Sunday lunch and that the second helping of pudding perhaps wasn't the greatest idea!

I would be wary of a cob (ok any horse, but cobs and natives in particular) being out on good grazing though. They usually don't need it, put far more weight on than is healthy, and there's the risk of laminitis. I don't know what your yard set up is, but can you restrict his access to good grass or see if someone with a poorer doer would like to graze it down first?