Remembering your first lessons!

cyberpunkgrrl

Back in the saddle!
Feb 26, 2007
London, UK
I was just remembering my first riding lessons, which made me laugh!

I started riding at about 12 years old and the first pony I rode was a 12.2hh chestnut gelding called Ross, which I thought was hilarious becuase that is my brothers name *lol*

The first pony I bonded with was a 13.2hh dapple grey mare called Shelly. Shelly was a *pig*, and I loved her to bits. I did my first jump on her (which was a x-country jump, two telegraph poles on top of each other!) and i ended up the other side, half hanging off, legs waving as she cantered off into the distance! She used to have a terrible habit of stopping before a jump then popping over, leading to me ending up on the floor more often than not! One time, she was even so kind as to stop and let me go over the jump first :D :p

So yes - my first riding memories!

anyone else? :)

*s*

The first memory I have is of my first canter when I was 8, fell off due to lack of balance :p Started jumping soon after, remember being fearless, cross country on anything, used to fall off a few times each lesson, but just got back on and started jumpng again. Was brill. Not any more though, health and safety wouldnt allow it, and neither would my confidence!!!

I have a photo ( which I will NOT SCAN!!!) of my first riding lesson I had ( was a birthday treat and never had any after that till alot later!sob sob!)

anyhow I had on

Bright red polker dot leggins
Bright green tracksuit top
bright green sandle type shoes!

I'm surprised the poor pony didnt spook at this oddly dressed approaching child!

I remember the school it has since closed down but was on the Main road through Knutsford, Cheshire ( could be knutsford rd or Manchester Rd) and was at a place on the right. the pony was called Bramble! God cant believe I can remember that..must of made an impact on me!

last time I drove past whilist in Cheshire its offices now ...what a shame