Retraining older horse

raincld

Dec 24, 2001
South Carolina, USA
Visit site
Let me start with a little background. I have been riding for 18 years, but usually with very well trained horses. After college, I decided to quit showing competitively and start riding for the pleasure of riding. I ended up selling my high strung show horses and purchased a very inexperienced 4 year old quarter horse gelding for trail riding.

I absolutely adore this horse and we have a great relationship for trail riding. Essentially all of his training has come from me, but he has trusted me since day one. If ever a situation arose that made him uncomfortable, he simply stops and waits for me to reassure him and then he moves on. Since I only used him for hacking, I never put any pressure on him to be "correct." Canter leads were unimportant as was bending. As long as I returned safely to the trail head, I was happy.

So here we are 6 years later and I have decided that I would like to reenter the show ring, but I don't want to get a new horse so Cisco is having to be started over. After 6 weeks of constant working, I have him comfortable under a hunter saddle (it's always been western until now) and he is accepting the noseband on the bridle (not something he appreciated right off). My problem is that I can't seem to convince him to bend AT ALL. We spend hours working on serpentines and weaving around cones and barrels and never before have my legs been this sore from trying to control his back end, but it all seems to not be working. At every opportunity, Cisco's backend swings around the corner rather than bending through it. I am at a loss.