"Ride With Your Mind"

OldandNew

Mar 29, 2007
London
I had the opportunity of a Ride with Your Mind lesson last weekend and wondered if other forum members had been taught this way? For a start, I have very little experience riding in the menage as where I usually ride, all lessons are instructional hacks. There is no indoor or outdoor school. Secondly, I was told to grip with my inner thighs and point my knees towards the horse's withers. Also to keep my lower leg away from the horse unless I was giving a leg aid. And finally, also alien to the way I have been taught, to do long sweeping rises over the horse's neck in trot. It all felt a bit strange but the instructor said it was to keep me "plugged in" at the seatbones. Would be interested in other opinions????

Last edited:
I have a RWYM instructor as does juliecwuk (Moet's owner).

It's a very unusual method but I have had better teaching from my instructor than from anyone else ever. We do a lot of our learning on instructional hacks as well.

What I would say is that if the instructor's ideas or images don't appeal to you, ask her to try something else. RWYM instructors are taught to tailor what they do to their pupil's learning, so she should react to your needs.

I have had some (off horse) direction from an ex RWYM person who still uses much of the ideas in her instruction. There seem to be many different 'methods' out there and I must admit I tend to cherry pick a bit, and just go with the things that resonate with me and make sense. So I use a complete mish mash of techniques that suit me. Probably why I'm such a total riding numpty mind you! :rolleyes:

Stupid me that is what RWYM means.o_O I always read Julies threads on this and I now Moet goes really well with it. Personnel I don't grip with any part of my body but I never ride with my legs wrapped around as like you said I put my legs on when I apply an aid.

Sounds interesting