Riding Friends

JodieB

Dec 12, 2019
Hi, just getting back into riding after lockdowns. Looking for recommendations for ridi g schools in North Somerset.

I am a novice older rider (55), walk and trot, working trotting on the diagonal.

Also looking for older beginners in the area to maybe have a chat with and maybe share the off lesson.

You are very welcome here. I was an older beginner too. And my OH likewise, a few years later in order to trail ride in USA. Sadly I never met another.

But while I was learning and seeming to make no progress in the first year or two, my OH said that all that mattered was saddle time. Just to ride once or twice every week and one would end up a rider.

Welcome to the forum :) . Sorry, not your area, but good luck finding a horsey pal. 30 years ago I took up riding again,and went to a horsemanship course, where I met my now best friend. We've both bought horses, ridden together, had horsey holidays together - you name it. I hope you have the same luck.

Good to see you here. Sorry I'm not in your area (but we are a similar age). Looking forward to hearing about your riding adventures :)

Unfortunately we are spread far and wide, you might be better looking on local Facebook groups for people/places in your area. Feel free to chat about your journey here though :D

Hi Jodie, I am in your area ish! Bristol. Similar age, and am returning to riding as a novice/intermediate..learning to walk, trot, stop, start, turn atm..I'd be interested in possibly meeting for a share ride but ive not found it that easy to find stables that have availability.Where do you ride? I am having 121 lessons at Cottage Stables in Hambrook, S Glos..they might be bale to provide a shared lesson sometime in future...I would really like to go out for a hack in future with another/some other horses, but nothing too fast..

Reactions: Huggy