Riding lessons for younger kids

Marypeac25

Apr 3, 2024
Lately I have been teaching a couple kids to ride. I am kinda new at teaching other kids to ride, but does anyone have any suggestions that might help me teach them? Any tips?

I feel like one of them is ready to move to trotting, but I’m not exactly sure how to move her into some trotting as well.

I am also wondering if y’all think mixing a couple bareback walk lessons in would help give them a better seat?

I would appreciate any suggestions or tips!

More info is needed. What age are the children? In the UK many little children have lead out pony rides with stirups in walk and trot before they learn to ride independently at about 8 years old. In UK lessons the student must have either a saddle or a bridle. They get a good seat by riding without stirrups for part of the lesson and learning sitting trot. It isnt normal to teach young kids bareback as most of them are taught or allowed to hold the front of the saddle.

Reactions: Marypeac25
Are you certified? Do you have insurance? Are you a minor? If you're a minor your parents are on the hook for accidents. If you board then so is your barn owner/land owner. Even if you aren't a minor If you board then they can be held responsible here in the states. Especially if you have no qualifications. As you don't know how to proceed from this point I'm going to say you aren't ready to teach. You need lessons yourself and a good mentor to train under and work with when you get ready to.

More info is needed. What age are the children? In the UK many little children have lead out pony rides with stirups in walk and trot before they learn to ride independently at about 8 years old. In UK lessons the student must have either a saddle or a bridle. They get a good seat by riding without stirrups for part of the lesson and learning sitting trot. It isnt normal to teach young kids bareback as most of them are taught or allowed to hold the front of the saddle.