sharer options!

juliecwuk

Mar 2, 2006
Wolverhampton
I have had my sisters cob living up with me since August. In september i started having two sharers for him...

Permanent sharer - Tues/Fri/Sun pays £65 per month DD.
Temp sharer - Mon/Sat and pays £15 per week but only when she rides...so could be £0 for no riding, £10 for one ride, £15 for two rides....originally set up as i thought she would only want to ride once every other week - turned out she LOVES it and rides pretty much twice a week every week depending on weather.

However the permanent sharer pays regardless and although some of you may wonder why this is the case - those three days are hers, if she chooses not to ride that's up to her....originally the temp sharer could only ride when i am there as she was a total beginner, so if i cant be there then i feel bad asking her to pay....plus when we first started it she wasnt sure how much she would want to commit etc etc...however as it turns out she LOVES riding and goes up on days when i cant be there and rides in all weather and arranges lessons when i cannot take her on a hack.

so for the last four months the permanent sharer hasnt been working so rides tues/fri in the mornings, i ride with her when work allows, but unfortunately i have realised that she is heavily dependent on me - if i cant ride then she wont go up even though she is more than capable of getting him in and riding in the school (shes experienced)....im finding it a bit of a bind now and also shes not 'pushing' herself anymore and just avoids going there without me....i was understanding for the first 3 months but now i feel she should go up without me if i cant be there...i just feel a bit under pressure to ride alot when sometimes i would rather not.

Now in my opinion a proper part loan is a set 3 days, if you cant ride on 1 or 2 of those days (as is the case for most people in the winter) then thats unfortunate but the money shouldnt change as the horse is 'hers' on those days?