Sheath Cleaning Questions

_Bex_

Apr 17, 2005
This is my first post ever on this board, I have been a member for quite some time but generally just like to brows around.

Well it’s that time of year when I should really clean my horses sheath. I did read that post a while ago which I found useful, only I have never done this before and have a few questions/concerns that I need to ask. Any answers will be appreciated.

1. Is baby oil ok to use? I read that you can use this to clean it with.
2. Would a cheep herbal shampoo be ok to use? Or will this irritate him?
3. Will he get an infection if all the soap is not washed off properly?
4. Do I need to dry him off after?
5. Im a little unsure what to do with the “bean” and where and what is?
6. How far up does his sheath go? And how far up do I need to go?

Sorry if these questions sound silly, but I would feel better if I know all these before I attempt it. Thanx a lot _Bex_

please do not use soap or baby oil to clean his sheath with. invest in a proper sheath cleanser, there are loads on the market and they are not expensive. with the cleanser i use, it has to be washed off, but individual products vary. i usually clean a good 8-10 inches in.

1. Is baby oil ok to use? I read that you can use this to clean it with.
Horses can sometimes be allergic to baby oil. Better to get something designed for the purpose.

2. Would a cheep herbal shampoo be ok to use? Or will this irritate him?
Very likely to irritate him.

3. Will he get an infection if all the soap is not washed off properly?
Its not so much an infection as that you are affecting the natural balance (pH etc) of the skin which is more likely to cause problems in the long run. Think about if you don't wash soap/detergent off properly !

4. Do I need to dry him off after?
Not if you've rinsed well. Of course if the weather is horrid you need to consider how cold, chapped etc they might get. Again, think how you might feel yourself.