Sitting trot tips?

candyflosspot

bossy boots
Sep 7, 2010
Sheffield
Does anyone have any advice on how to master sitting trot please? We were working on ST during my lesson on saturday, and i felt like i was just bouncing around. I did try to "feel my horses movement" and go along with her but it still felt wrong..
if anyone has any advice to offer, it would be gratefully received.

Get yourself a wide, soft-backed, flat-stepping daisycutting bogpony like Ziggy and get him to jog. You'll hardly know it's trot!

For those occasions when you have to sit a trot with bounce - sit upright so your hips can flex, and soften yourself in the hip area as much as you can. I think of myself like an accordion (squeezebox) pleating up and unpleating, just absorbing the motion. Resistance is useless!

I might be wrong, but I kind of relax into it, think cowboy, and sit on the pockets of your jeans a bit, and go with the flow. But I am no expert and this is probably not right.

When you are told to feel the movement, it is not the bounce you are meant to feel. If you sit on the horse in walk you should feel your hips dip in turn as his hind feet move. Breathe slow and deep and relax into that feel. If you can, find someone to lunge you or give you a lunge lesson so you can shut your eyes if you want.
The good news is that the movement of those hind legs in trot is rthe same as in walk.
POn some horses it is easy to feel and let your seat bones did with the trot.
But on a bouncy horse, the abrupt up down movement and being precarious invades your brain and you stiffen. On a very bouncy trotter, I need to relax and even shut my eyes to "get" the side to side movment, but once you have got it into your head, your body should pick up the feel and allow it to happen under you. Breathe and relax and allow your seat bones to dip with the movment, first one side and then the other, just as you did in walk.
Then you should have the same sort of feel as you had in walk.