Sleepless Night. Have I done the right thing? Talk to me please.

Myfellpony

Mar 15, 2015
I am a company accountant. About 5 years ago I asked if I could go part time - 3 days a week. It was agreed, and a third person was brought into the team to work 5 days a week, to do the work I no longer had time to do, and to take some work off the second team member in order to ease her workload.
this worked fine after a few teething problems. I work full time on the weeks when either of the other two are off sick, or on holiday. In 2019, I worked 6 months full time due to one colleague being off sick long term.

Anyway due to COVID (!!!?????) our business is doing extremely well, the workforce has actually doubled and we have had to rent extra premises to cope with the work.
Every department has employed extra people except the accounts teams.

On Wednesday, the director told me to go home and think about my salary, in other words he was offering me a pay rise.

Yesterday, he came to discuss it with me. I told him that my job now needed 5 days a week and I am trying to do it in 4 ( I bring work home with me and do half days on the two days I don’t go in the office, sometimes I also have to work at weekend too). He knows I do this.
I totally threw him though, by saying that I didn’t want to go back full time, that I didn’t want to bring in another assistant below me as it would mean giving up the part of my job that I like doing and leaving me with the part that I don’t enjoy doing.

So basically I have talked myself out of my job :eek:.

He was basically speechless and is thinking about what I said this weekend. From his point of view, he was offering me a pay increase and I have basically almost told him I’m leaving!