Starting rid!ing again

cider

Sep 28, 2005
Hi Everyone, I am new and am very excited to have found this forum. I feel I have got so much in common with a lot of people on here.

I am 41 years old and have never lost my life long love of horses. I was a pony mad girl whose parents could not afford to buy me a pony, so hence was one of those kids hanging around the riding school, helping out and hoping to get a free ride. At that age I was also completely fearless. The more difficult and lively the pony, the better as far as I was concerned!!! I was brought up in Weston super Mare and have fantastic memories of riding along the beach.

About 6 years ago I started riding again, and was horrified to find that I had completely lost my nerve. I expected to be a bit rusty but found that I was absolutely hopeless on top of a horse. I was terrified of riding in the outdoor school, hated hacking and was always imaging the worse i.e. the horse spooking, the horse bolting, getting hit by a car (I have a very vivid imagination!). Even when riding in the indoor school I had visions of the horse slipping whilst going round a bend. I felt very nervous before the lessons and was not enjoying myself. It all came to a head when whilst out on a hack one morning the horse I was on slipped whilst trotting on wet grass, went down completely and nearly rolled on me.

I have not ridden now for about 5 years and am very cross with myself that I did not persevere. The thing is I LOVE horses, always have done and my biggest regret is that I have wasted so many years not riding. I am now in a position where we probably afford for me to have my own horse (something I would have killed for as a child) and could really kick myself for not having the courage now.