sweat marks under saddle

clashnoir

May 19, 2010
Nr Edinburgh, Borders
My friend recently go a loan horse and we have been trying to find a saddle to fit him. His own tack was not in a safev condition.
He is extra wide and she has aquired a Thorowgood saddle for him but which looks a reasonable fit but is causing huge sweat marks under the back of theb saddle and not at the front.
I assume pressure caueses dry patches? Why the excessive sweat marks?

i am no expert but could the saddle be a tad too narrow? this could cause it to be tight/pressured on the front and lifting up (or worse still bouncing up and down) at the back?

Even if it's the right width it could be the wrong shape for him, check it's not moving from side to side as well as up & down. Needless to say you need to check with the rider on!

Is there anyone on your yard that knows a bit about saddle fit who could look at it for you?

My friend recently go a loan horse and we have been trying to find a saddle to fit him. His own tack was not in a safev condition.
He is extra wide and she has aquired a Thorowgood saddle for him but which looks a reasonable fit but is causing huge sweat marks under the back of theb saddle and not at the front.
I assume pressure caueses dry patches? Why the excessive sweat marks?

Have you got any pics of saddle being ridden in...you would think that it is to narrow, and causing pressure hence no sweat..

Even if it's the right width it could be the wrong shape for him, check it's not moving from side to side as well as up & down. Needless to say you need to check with the rider on!

Is there anyone on your yard that knows a bit about saddle fit who could look at it for you?

Not on a yard. It looks like it fits reasonablly well with and without rider on.
Even contact and good spine clearance both with and without rider.
Going to get someone else to check it too as he is totally table shaped.