Tell me about Le Trec.

Native Lover

Native Pony Fan
Jul 13, 2009
Lincolnshire,wheres the hills?
stores.shop.ebay.co.uk
A few year ago I was going to try Le Trec Lincolnshire..... but my partner fell ill with Cancer...... now ready to start learning with Melody.... I am trying to get a small group together to train alongside me in the Lincoln area.... I have looked at classes maximum of 6 for 90 mins is £60 + 25p per mile so would be about £20 per person which I don’t think is bad really. One day I would like to compete for fun doing this and it gives me an aim while losing weight. Does anybody on here do Le Trec ? What level of rider would you need to be.

Last edited:
I have done a bit with Ziggy at our local riding club. It's great fun and I was a real novice at the time and with a novice pony too. You can do it in hand - we did our first ever little competition at in hand Trec: there's an obedience and accuracy test (like dressage but it doesn't matter what shape you make), a control of paces test - how fast can you walk? How slow can you trot? (or canter if ridden) and an obstacle test which is a hoot.

In the real thing you have a navigation and endurance section over a hacking route. Many Trec competitions at a low level miss this out, but it's fun, like orienteering on your pony!

The obstacles can be anything but are often things you will meet when out and about - gates, dustbins, flags, mazes, getting on and off from the wrong side....