ten mile credit crunch yard move by hoof and foot! Long

Brychen

Aug 11, 2002
Visit site
This is quite long as I want to share a suprisingly nice day and my non horsey friends dont care!

I moved today after much dithering from my lovely yard that had a true wow factor, in a valley in the pennines with stunning scenery and a lovely lovely yard owner. I have gone to a v.nice yard which isnt in quite the same WOW location but still v. nice and great riding country. All very nervy for me as I have moved up here after keeping pony for 13 years in Birmingham so I have no prior knowledge of yards here.

I did a mixture of hacking and on foot walking the ten miles along the pennine bridle path to new yard. it took us 3 hrs as my old boys not what he was in his younger days he could do 40 miles in 5 hours. But what a stunning ride.

I hand walked him up a hill under the amazingly beautiful saddleworth viaduct (still used by steam trains), onto the pennine bridle path which runs from saddleworth to greenfields on a ex train line. The day was stunning all redish heathers, dark hills with light coming down through the clouds in long bolts of sun and stunning red and in some places orange leaved.

Had some quite funny bits like:

class of early teenage girls on a stretch which horse always finds scarey, narrow with a high wooden fence either side. He refused to move so they all sidled past and he frisked most of them!,

nice old lady whose do decided to panic and run v.v.slowly pursuade by her v.v.slow in front of us.
Most of the first half of route was well known from other hacks but second half all unkown territory.
Pony getting v. upset when we road past freizland arena (all weather riding arena maintained by local council for free use by all), Icould feel his going 'stupid human we should turn and run for home now!'