The blog of Mary Poppins

Mary Poppins

Oct 10, 2004
Visit site
I have been inspired by reading some of your fantastic blogs so I thought that I would start one of my own.

I started riding aged 4 when my parents decided to take us all as a family. I remember riding a black shetland pony and being led around the roads by 2 teenage girls with my brother and sister. They used to leave us sitting on our ponies outside a petrol station while they went in and talked to the boys. We did this for about a year until my dad fell off and decided that we wouldn't go anymore.

When I was 9 we moved house and I found it difficult to settle. I made some friends with some girls who went to the local riding school and I begged my parents to let me go. Money was tight at the time, but because I was so unhappy at a school they agreed to let me have one riding lesson a fortnight. In my first lesson I rode a skewbold gelding called Dominic. From that moment I was hooked. I quickly started to help out at the yard and before long I was spending every weekend and every school holiday helping out. My favourite horse was a 13.1 New Forest called Amos. He was ridden in a pellum but I never understood why because he was the most sensible horse on the yard. I rode him in my first ever show and came first.

When I was 13 they offered me a formal job. I got paid £4.50 to work from 7am to 2pm and got a free ride. It was slave labour really because 3 of us (all aged under 16) used to run the entire yard getting 20 ponies ready for lessons, mucking out and cleaning tack. It was really hard work but I loved every second of it.