Too stiff to dismount!

Dizzy Woo

Apr 20, 2008
Dorset
:eek: How embarrasing, I started riding the begining of this year after a break of over 30 years, I have my own gorgeous Haffy called Daisy that I try to go out on a hack about 4 or 5 times per week and have been schooling once a week..... well, I must be getting old cos today I just couldn't get off her! My leg just wouldn't swing over and got caught on her bum, she put her head down to have a much and I nearly went over the front. Just managed to wiggle back into the saddle, had to dismount with one foot in the stirrup so my right leg could swing over - really embarrasing. I must be seizing up. :rolleyes:..has anyone else experienced this??

My riding buddy has painful hips and has to get off this way, not safe but not much choice. She also needs quite a flat saddle or her leg hits the cantle. I'll be interested ( for her) on your replies.

I too came back to riding after 20+ yrs, i have had 8 lessons, and I have suffered the same thing, after an hours hard work my legs are often dead, no energy in them, they have a mind of there own lol
last night we had mounted games, I was on/off like a yoyo, I was totally shattered at the end of all, and couldnt get my leg up the tack room step..:eek:
paying for it today, sore all over, I thought I was 14 last night (Im 41:D)

My riding buddy has painful hips and has to get off this way,

I hadn't thought about it before but I think it is my hips rather than the legs.... if I go for a long slow ploddy hack they are particularly painful whereas if I am doing a fair bit of trotting/cantering/schooling I do not get so much pain as I am moving around a lot more. Gonna get some Seven Seas joint mobility stuff tomorrow - sound like my granny!:D

My mum can't get off the normal way either due to her hips. The only way she can do it is to swing the right leg over the pommel instead.