Warm up??

gail_rose

Dec 28, 2003
Scotland
Visit site
Warm up?? - Please Help!!!

Hi everyone.
hope you're all well! Got a bit of a stupid question for you all. I'm starting regular riding lessons again finally ( :D :D ) on Wednesday night this week. I went up last week to watch my friend's lesson, which is the one before mine, and to see some of the lesson I'll be joining.
Now for the stupid bit - everyone has to warm up by themselves & I've never done this before despite having ridden for almost 15 years!! :eek: Whenever I've ridden before my instructors have done a sort of group warm up with us all so I have absolutely no idea.
Any hints/tips will be greatly appreciated!! Don't want to make a fool of myself in front of everyone on my first time. :( :eek:
Thanks,
Gail. x

Last edited:
Warm up on a strange horse is primarily to get the horse listening to you. They will get a good physical warm up whilst you're doing it.

So lots of

halt/walk transitions
10m circles, 15m circles, 20m circles
shallow loops (rememeber to get the change of bend)
figures of 8 - 10m and 20m
Slight shoulder in (or even just an outside bend whilst walking down the long side)
Walk/trot transition
chnages of speed within the pace

If you've walked more than half a lap of the school without doing something, you're wasting time. ALWAYS be doing something.

So, for example: