Western Saddles

avrillo

Aug 4, 2005
Slovenia
I'm thinking about buying a western saddle for my Warmblood. I am living in very mountainous region and feel the western type saddle would be safer and more comfortable for the long rides. Does anyone have any recommendations on western saddle makes. I would be interested in your suggestions. Thanks:)

I've been doing a little research on western saddles recently, as I'm thinking of buying one, and as most people here trail ride, or hack out, in a western saddle I've ridden in quite a few.:) I'm no expert by a long shot, but I'm happy to share what little I've learned.

I would not advise buying a synthetic. I bought an Abetta endurance saddle for my American Paint Horse several years ago. The advantages are they are lightweight and easy to clean - however the trees tend to be narrower, which is a big disadvantage with chunkier horses, like my paint and I suspect your WB. And one of our resident saddle-fitters here says the synthetic tree is far more likely to warp than a wooden one.

Another thing to watch out for is the tendency of western saddles to place one's feet too far forward. I've actually only ridden in one or two that don't do this - a Crates and a National Bridle Shop. I'll look up the links to their websites and post them for you.

I would think for a WB you'd need full Quarter Horse or Gaited Horse bars, but I'm only guessing here as I'm not terribly familiar with the shape of a WB. How long-backed are WB's? Length is another thing to watch out for in a western saddle - too long and it can interfere with the movement of the hips and cause lower back soreness.