what does everyone think??

terricowie1234

golden oldie
Mar 29, 2007
dover,kent, uk
ive neen riding a 15.2 arab now for 7 years shes now at the age of 23 and the owner is moving to cornwall (im in kent) and shes letting me have her on permanent loan until her last days! she has plenty of years left in her yet as when out hacking she thinks shes a 5 year old lol, im getting her on the 5th of may. shes normally fed on pony nuts and chaff, but i think with her getting older she needs a bit more, does any one know what feed is best and supplements (she and a knee injury 8 years ago but shes been sound ever since i started riding her, and vet gave all clear for her to be hacked out 4-5 times a week and some schooling. any ideas???
sorry to waffle on ( i will post loads of piccies when i get her to my yard!!:D

What makes you think her feed needs changing? Is she loosing condition? Will you be changing any other parts of her routine? Turnout, exercise etc?

Remember if you change her diet to do it slowly, horses digestive stystems are notorious sensitive!

her condition isnt fab but i would like to improve it! she has a problem keeping shoes on ( so wondered if there was any supplements for healthy hoofs) and just with her getting on abit i want her to get all the vitamins an mineals she needs to keep her in tip top condition really. nope she will be turned out every day and brought in at night, and excersised 3-5 days a week hacked out walking and trotting and the occasional canter

Good luck with her, what a great oppoutunity for you! The owner must certainly respect you, and know the horse will be in good hands.