When to use body protectors?

fjordlady

Sep 29, 2007
Wonderful Wales
Not sure if this has been discussed previously, I was just wondering how many people have them, use them and for what activities. Also, if anyone can give an example of using one during a fall and the outcome.

When I started riding over 30 years ago :eek: nobody wore them. Infact I have only recently purchased one for myself. I am afraid it was a case of buying one after a fall :rolleyes:. However, I am ashamed to admit I have only used a couple of times.

I have always insisted my daughter wear one at all times and its like second nature to her now.

I really feel as if I should wear it but do find it hard to get use to.

So would be great to hear what you all do :D

I've never worn one... I would only wear one if I was riding on the road, or jumping or something... Not just regular trails and all that...

I wear mine (racesafe) everytime I ride. It was a pain to start with, but now its 2nd nature, just like putting your hat on. When madam barged past me through the stable door recently, shoving me up against the door frame, I was glad I had it on:eek:

Blegh, much as mine cramps my style, I'll wear it to jump most times, and in light of mine and Merlyn's recent accident, hacking out too. As Merlyn's quite strong and loves to jump, it's only sensible that I wear it the first time I jump him, at least.

They're great in the event of a fall, everything aches a lot less the next day I find, and you sit up faster. More shock absorbency, all round very good if you happen to hit the ground hard and fast :p

I used to use mine whilst schooling so I didn't have to wear a sports bra, but having been measured and fitted properly at bravissimo, I don't really need to do that any more. Lots of people still do though!

every time i get on a horse i put my BP on. a properly fitted BP should not feel weird or uncomfortable. If you can't get one that suits you off the peg then get a made to measure one.