Why are my horses feet still terrible??

MrA

Feb 8, 2012
He's been on biotin for well over a year and a rosehip and seaweed supplement for well over 6 months now but his feet are still very crumbly and weak. Having his shoes removed while he is on boxrest so really want to try and get his feet looking better.

Anything else I can try please?

Biotin isn't always the greatest thing it promotes hoof growth but doesn't really strengthen the quality of hoof growth what is his diet?

What does the farrier recommend? Kevin Bacon hoof dressing is meant to be good - I know it won't work alone, but used in conjunction with other things it may help.

I am not an expert by any means, and my attempt at taking Dolly barefoot was a disaster from start to finish. However, after a lot of research and supplementing what was missing in her diet, she now has extremely good feet. I don't think Biotin alone is the answer TBH.

If you go on the Phoenix horse forum or even just google barefoot diet, you will find masses of information about how to pin down what they need. I think one of the biggest issues with Dolly was getting her diet as low as possible in sugar, as well as giving her different minerals.

I use Kevin bacon regularly :)

I used to use keratex hoof hardener but didn't really notice any difference.

He just gets hay and tiny handful of hifi molasses free. The seaweed and rosehip is a Dodson and horrell product called firm foot.

There is too much information I get so confused haha x

I have tried various supplements in the past and the one thing that works for my horse's feet (lost shoes non stop and hoof prior to this) is rubbing original cornucrescine in daily.

I have noticed the modern Haflinger does tend to have poor quality horn. THe worst feet I ever saw were on a Haflinger. They used ton be known for their hardwearing feet and it was a Haflinger I used to do shoeless endurance on, back in the 70s