Why do non-horse owners own a saddle?

Dreamchaser

Total falls: 13
May 3, 2003
Ontario, Canada
photobucket.com
So.... I need someone to explain this to me...

As many of you know, I have been looking for a part-boarder for Dolly for some time now. What frustrates me is just how many people ask if they can ride in their own saddle when they come. It seems to never occur to them that their saddle will not fit her! Most of these people have never owned horses before and have either just taken lessons or may have part-boarded in the past.

I had a dad who had ridden when he was younger and brought out his two daughters to see Dolly. Only one of the daughters came and she was a complete beginner (both of the daughter have ridden the same amount of time, which had only been a few months). When I say complete beginner, I mean it! The girl was just fine at walking around, although still had some trouble steering, but could trot when being led. The dad was telling me how his children owned their own saddle and would want to use it if they rode her again. No way were they going to do that!

It seems many riding schools encourage their students to buy a saddle as they claim it will "be a good investment". :rolleyes:

Is this just the North American outlook on saddles? Will this outlook ever change?

i have to admit that its never happened to me, found anyone without a horse with a saddle. It must be an american thing ;)
Im putting my old saddle in the paper for a tenner in the hope some horse crazy kid will want it and put it on a chair arm and ride it :p

*raises a hand*

I got my saddle about 2 years before I got my own horse.
It just seemed the thing to do. I was riding quite a few horses, and my trainer encouraged me to find a saddle that could fit ME. (there's never been this huge pressure to really fit the horse perfectly. so long as it fit 'well enough' we were good to go)