Worrying about getting another horse

Trewsers

Oct 13, 2004
On an island
OH's gelding is getting on - there is no doubt that we have to be realistic and due to his health problems we have both said that we can't see him continuing to have a "working life" for much longer than say the next 12 - 18 months. We are both realistic and I think we'll know when the time is right to let him have a well deserved rest. OH thinks I'm daft, but I'm worried sick about getting another horse for him.:eek: I am so happy with our pair and feel so settled now we're all at home together I am loathe to bring more trouble to our doorstep:eek: I am worried about how JOe will cope with an addition (is 3 a bad number?) and worried how we'll cope handling wise / riding wise. Not like we're complete novices - we've both owned for 5 years plus, but all the same you get used to one particular horse!
Sorry if I sound a wimp, but does everybody feel like this, ie, apprehensive? I daren't even start looking yet! I have been putting it off:eek:
Any thoughts much appreciated.

I think 3 is a bit of an odd number, if you ride out together I would look at buying a new horse for your OH and then buying/loaning a companion horse so Joe isn't on his own when you both ride out together.

I have 7 horses, but I have 2 retired horses to keep each other company (although they hate each other!)

Do you think 3 wouldn't hit it off together turned out? Not so worried about hacking out together - was worrying more about the turnout point of view if you know what I mean.
I did suggest a companion horse for Joe when we would have to go out riding together, but as OH points out - its still to shoe, feed, vet vaccines etc etc - just don't know if we can afford 4! Plus there is the time aspect (tho I am self employed and can be pretty flexible).