Loan advice

baybabe

Apr 4, 2007
Due to complete timewasters and the credit crunch, my mare is still for sale.
A lady who has lessons on my yard has approached me about having her on loan. l She has her own livery yard and is a very competent rider. she sees the potential in her and hopes to bring her on over the winter for me maybe get some interest in her from some of her clients for a sale.
The lady is a good friend of my instructors for years.
Its my first time loaning and would like some advice on what i should ask?
Insurance?
Who keeeps the passport?
Should she go with tack its a big yard?
Any otther things I should write in an agreement?
Help appreciated. Thanks:)

Definetly get a written contract, even have it signed at the solicitors, you keep the passport, this way she cant realy sell her.

Send her with the tack, this way you know shes wearing the correct tack that fits her well.

Can you not out her on loan for a year until you are a little bit more finacially stable, this way, your mare gets worked and brought on over the winter and you get to keep her.

Talk to the woman, see exactly what shes wants to do with the mare how long she wants her for, im sure you can come up with some agreement that suits you both.

And loaning her out means that you can keep some contact and see her doing well.

:D

I would definately have a loan contract, I recently loaned out my horse without one to a ' friend' unfortunately he came back needing vetinary attention, Lame ( not seen vet) and also all my tack was ' stolen '

I have not been reimbursed a penny, as they know without a contract they technically can get away with it, alougth I am using my own solicter now to take futher action :cool: