riding bareback

I've been riding my lesson mare bareback for 4 years. She is more comfortable with ME on her bareback at 120ish pounds than little kids with a blanket, pad, theraputic pad, and saddle.

Bareback riding doesn't harm a horse if you know how to actually sit down and ride- it's just that a large amount of riders actually can't do either. I think it's time for people to learn how to really ride- not just stabalize with the stirrups. Even top showjumpers do it- usually after jumps. Bareback jumpers sit down and shut up (seat wise).

An english set of saddle panels mimics the shape of the human underside- what does that tell you?
Plus, a rider will always fit, a saddle will not adjust to any changes in a horse, even minor. A body is forgiving of movement, a saddle is not.

You can effectively ride a horse without a saddle for the horses whole life. A mare at my barn has been ridden bareback almost entirely by her owner, who has owned her for probably the last.... 6 years or so?

There's going to be poeple here saying ti does damage. So can a saddle. But a bareback rider is not restricting, and is at least minimally lighter to carry.

bareback riding is good for a horse, when you think of the weight of a saddle, does them good and they enjoy it.

i have just started bareback riding on a pad, i do my lessons stirrupless now with an aim to be good enough by winter to do all my lessons bareback as well (we have hard lessons :) ) i ride drummer at least once a week bareback if i get chance

As a note, I'm not even planning to buy a saddle for my new horse- unless I start showing or start english, bareback it is- even then, I'll probably play around with jumping bareback.

I thought that saddles were invented by men because they used to dare eachother to do silly things and jump bareback on high withered horses. This hurt too much down below, so they invented saddles and couls still do stupid things while preparing to go into battle and stuff.