beginner rider

Apr 8, 2021
My name is Sam Thompson I'm new to the forum I'm 17 a boy I could be a equestrian but don't know anything. I played soccer back in the in 8th and 7th grade but I wasn't very good at it I was gay at the time made fun of a lot just I couldn't do the kicks right or trying to do my best instead I just beached warmed the whole time. Honestly even if I was a equestrian my sister said to me everyone is good at something but Honestly I'm not good at anything. About being a equestrian I have so many questions where to begin and I'm struggling to find a mentor who would teach me. I know someone who rode in middle school but hated me. I don't know which horse breed would be good for me because I get really nervous and overthink things. My finale thing would be is I'm not a very fast learner and struggle a lot. Honestly I might need a lot of help.

It sounds like you need to find a good riding school with a qualified instructor/trainer to get you started. Riding isn’t something you just pick up in a few tries, it’s something you spend a lifetime working towards so there’s no rush to be great immediately and no rush to decide what breed you might like to purchase, getting your own horse should be several years away until you have sufficient knowledge and skills.

Reactions: Huggy
Welcome, and agree with the above. Don't worry about breeds, unless you're buying - temperament is the thing that matters. I used to ride the ugliest horse at the RS but he was a total gentleman, and as sweet as they come. A RS should know exactly what horse will suit you as a beginner. Just enjoy it!