Dodgy passport?

LinzCos

Nov 18, 2004
Visit site
I went to look at a horse today and the story from the seller was very odd. She was a very pleasant woman, appeared genuine but didn't seem very horsey.

She didn't know much about the horse, claiming it was her daughters, they had owned it a year or so, nothing about previous history only that it was Irish. Said it was a TBX but turned out to be an Irish racehorse, full TB. Said it was 7 years old but it seemed older. I am no expert but it was very thin and depressed and I guess either older than 7 or very malnourished and possibly ill.

Finally turned out that there was no record of ownership on the passport so I suggested she might get the passport updated or she might find it difficult to sell and declined to go further. Left amicably.

Left me feeling very sad for the horse and wondering what wasn't kosher about the whole deal. Do you think it is common to have a fake passport and this was an older horse or was the poor thing just poorly and old looking. How reliable are passports do you think???

Sorry but I think the whole passport thing is a farce. We paid a lot of money to passport our whole yard. It just happens that we have had an awful year and lost several horses (old age mainly). No vet has asked for a passport. The company that cremates them has not asked for passports. So where is the promised enhanced security. Oh and we are just keeping these vague documents, new horse who is going to know if it is roughly the same size (actally only joking but still buying passportless horses!)

Went to the sales with 3 black Shetlands, the Passports were looked at, but the comment by the guy checking them was......"which one it which?" I told him, he had the passports, you tell me!

We got the two old boys back with no passports.