'Dun' in Iberian Horses

Duns should have a dorsal stripe as well as black points, mane & tail whereas buckskins have all the same black points, mane & tail but no dorsal stripe

Dun horse:
Kit%202006.jpg

Buckskin horse:
Jokerlg.jpg

Yes, dun and buckskin and some other variaties like grullo exist in Lusitanos (I am no expert on spanish horses, so I won't say anything about Andalusians, I only know that they excluded chestnuts from the studbook for a long time, while the Lusitano studbook never excluded colours).

The biggest problem with the dilutes is that we don't have seperate names for them. Both buckskin and dun is "baio". Same goes for perlino, champagne and cremello, they are ALL called "isabel". No-one keeps track of which base colour they have, so it is very difficult to know which is which, some times, especially if they are intermixed :D. Same goes for smokey black and other variaties, they are simply not put apart. You will find them all, for sure, but not on paper;)

If you are thinking about buying one, I can certainly help you.
I live in Portugal.

Oooh Lusitana, that is not funny, I have always wanted a Lusitano. I currently have an "Isabella" Criollo (passport says so anyway) who is lovely but not a Lusitano

I THINK he was dun - he looked a lot like the dun one igloo posted actually but I would have to see him again to make sure I didn't imagine the dorsal stripe. He was so gorgeous though - I ended up having a huge converstaion with his owner (she'd imported him as a 6 month old) and I think she was flattered to have someone so interested in him.
Is there any difference in the actual colouring of a buckskin and a dun?

You can find from "yellow" to "light brown" in both. So that is not an idication.

There is also this "baio":

baio.jpg

And this (with zebra striping):
Soldraf.jpg

And this:
Mariametveulen.jpg

And many, many others...

And I would like to share these pics as well with examples of "isabel":
Tuim8.jpg

paardentekoop038.jpg