Everyone else has one!

Laura4543

May 20, 2019
Hi,

I have been riding for about 9 months now - every Sunday for 30 minutes (and occasionally during the week). I live in London so it is very expensive :)

Everyone in the yard (even some of the children) has posh Ariat long boots but given that I am not a grand prix jumper just yet I think buying a pair would be a tad ridiculous.
And maybe everyone else in the yard would think so too. But I do love riding and am committed etc and I do have a bit of money to spare if necessary.

Anyway I have never really liked wearing long boots.

So I have 3 questions really:

1. Why do people wear long boots?

2. Why do people wear chaps (I just wear short Jodhpur boots)? My jodhpurs have a grippy section around the knees.

3. Why do people wear Ariat boots? I have heard they are great but are they revolutionary! At the moment I just wear a cheap pair of leather jodhpur boots by Requisite. I am wondering if everything will change if I buy some Ariat Jodhpur boots? I must admit I would be a bit disappointed if all that was required was an expensive pair of boots but like good quality walking shoes perhaps shoes do make a difference?

Any advice very much appreciated...…..

I don't like riding in jodhpur boots without half chaps as I get rubbed. I always wear long boots nowadays. I have lots! lol everything from Ariat to unbranded. I have lots of Mountain Horse High riders, sadly some of those have broken zips (but that's another story).
I don't think it's odd if you buy yourself some long boots, if you're committed to having lessons and love it - why not? You can always sell them on via ebay or local classified ads.
Personally, I love long boots over jodhpur ones because I am lazy and find it easier than faffing with the half chaps (which get mud under and then flick off all over the carpet:oops::rolleyes:)
I think my first pair of long boots were Mountain Horse High Riders. And then I got some Rimfrost Riders too.