Feet slip around in strirrups.....

nikkilab

Feb 27, 2008
Hi. Whenever I ride I always seem to loose my stirrups or my feet slip around in them. What am I doing wrong? I am currently riding in a pair of lace up boots, should I get a pair of jodphur boots, will that make a difference?

Maybe your stirrups are too long.
Try to shorten them a hole and then make sure you are putting the ball of your foot on the stirrup and keep your heel down. This pressure should steady your feet.
Good Luck!

Hi

I always loose my stirrups when I get tense and my heels come up. The trick is definatly to keep them heels down - try some no stirrup work to stretch your legs - I find that really helps.

For the first year or so that I started riding, this ALWAYS happened to me. But eventually it stopped happening and my feet now keep their place in the stirrups. I suppose when your leg position becomes more stable and you remember to keep your heels down, it gets easier.

It can sometimes be becuase you're stirrups are too long/short but is generally to do with problems with your seat and gripping. If you grip with your legs they become shorter, so no matter how short your stirrups are, you loose them.

Only thing that really helps is practiseing your balance and seat, so you don't need to grip anymore. Lots and lots of no stirrup work helps, as does concentrating on sitting correctly.

I continually had this problem riding RS horses - now I have Scully the problem has gone away! Why? Well I think it is because I have new stirrups with nice soft treads and they seem to stay in place easily.

Perhaps it is worth getting some new treads and fitting them to the irons when you ride?

Gripping too tightly will make you tense and your leg may rise up a bit. It is difficult, but try to relax a bit and remember to breathe!

Also, try putting your stirrup just behind the ball of the foot instead of actually on the ball.