First show-aargh!

Apr 12, 2005
Hi all,

new to the forum, and after some advice pls pls pls.....

been tempted to enter a novice show at the weekend, on my 15hh L/W piebald cob type.

TOTAL novice at this, not taken part any ridden classes before, not been to a show for the last 12 years or so (and that was a gymkhana!) and this wll be my boy's first show too, having only owned him a year.

classes we could enter are;

family pony/horse (think he may be a bit spooky for this)
tack & turnout

and a fun class 'pony/horse judge would most like to take home'!

really not sure what to expect, what will i be expected to do, and how should i dress him (he is hogged, so should i remove the little bit of 'feather' he has too, should i plait his tail?)

i only have a black show jacket too, do you think that would be ok for a novice show?

on the verge of woos-ing out, as im so nervous, and havent a clue what to expect, but want to take him along, just for the experience, sorry for what may seem like daft questions, but does anyone have any tips they could lend me!

:eek:

have you got a picture? then we can help decide and also swoon over the pretty lightweight coloured (better than the heavy ones IMO!)

is there a coloured class?
or a best riding club horse class.

would you prefer to do ridden or inhand or both?

dont wuss out its tonnes of fun, once your hooked you will ask yourself why you didnt go every weekend. :D

oh and welcome to the forum ;)

thanks for reply,

the only classes are:

tack & turnout (my saddle is a bit old too!)
family horse/pony
horse/pony with prettiest face
horse/pony judge would most lke to take home

all fun classes i guess?

happy to do ridden, as he looks good under saddle, but not sure what i will have to do, his transition from trot to canter is not always 100% as used to do a lot of driving, so not really up for cantering around too much!

piccy below of jack (not a great one i'm afraid!)

so so nervous!

thanks!

Attachments