Horse Share: Would you let me?

Aimeelou

Mar 10, 2015
Hi everyone :)

I wanted some advice on if people would consider sharing me a horse with my limited experience? I know most people want someone who’s competent and been around horses for years but I don’t know how else to get the experience!

So I started riding at a local school and helping out there on the weekends for a few months. I then had an amazing share horse for a year two days a week. There no duties or real responsibility as I went up during the day and just groomed her, rode and the put her back out in the field. We would go to competitions but the owner was always with me.

I then had about a year break and have recently got back into riding. I’ve had a few lessons and have started helping out someone i met on Facebook with their poo picking, grooming and handling but no riding.

I feel like I’m safe to handle the horses and know the basics of horse care. My riding isn’t fantastic and I’d still class myself as a novice but I really want a share I can have lessons on and bond with. I also want to learn the ins and outs of horse health and care! I’m not sure how else to get experience.

Sorry this post has been so long but if you have any advice on if people are likely to let me share or how to improve my experience please let me know :)

when i still had my older highland i was desperately looking for someone to come and hack out with me on my youngster to give her confidence. I would have been very happy to have you come and do that with me. If Id been looking for an actual sharer then Id have looked to make a decision on that a few weeks in of me being with you all the time :)