I have no clue

Ladeefire

Sep 15, 2016
image.jpeg we own a 30 acre pasture where some neighbors pasture their horses in the summer. They maintain the fence line and we get to see three gorgeous horses playing along the mountains. We pet them and talk to the, along the fence line and we sometimes go in and groom them. This is our first year living here, last year we had this property rented out. Well one of the owners wants to sell/give us his 19 year old quarter horse who is mainly used for hunting ( we live in Alaska). Me: up I am originally from the east coast so my friends often come and stay with us as we run a bed and breakfast. Every time someone comes up, I take them to a local horseback riding place and we ride the trail horses I LOVE it but I am a novice. I have no idea how to care for, outfit or get the saddle and crap on him. But his owner says he will help me. He describes him as a muffin with an independent streak that would never drop you intentionally. He is trained to pack out moose and bear and be ridden.

Now my DH and I are considering this. We love having them around but smoke would be here alone I the winter until his friends come back out in the summer. He is alone at the owners place too. He is sweet, he doesn't like his head handled but if you scratch his chest he loves it and leans in. He is older (right?) but simply beautiful. He has to see a ferrier every 8 weeks or so because he is particular about his feet but otherwise in good health. He is barefoot now on the pasture but would be fine shoed.

Everyone who knows smoke says he is an excellent horse to learn on but I am 45 yo with three Great Danes (one of which hates the horses) and do I really need another large guy to take care of? I am so tempted, I have ALWAYS wanted a horse, I have always felt they were amazing but I do not know ANYTHING about them.