Just returning to riding

Chris55

Aug 10, 2019
Hi all, I'm just returning to riding after 3 years. I'm 64 and started riding when I was 40. Had a bad fall 3 years ago and sustained a fracture in my back. Was very lucky the fracture stayed stable and healed after 6 months. Problem is that I'm now petrified when I ride . Got back in saddle last week for 1st time and had to go on a lead rein. I felt like I was a complete beginner. Has anyone been in a similar situation and overcome the nerves ? And anyone out there my age overcome difficulties ?
Thanks in advance x

I started riding when I was 35, now 71, I had a fall early last year which tore the cartilage in the front of my pelvis - in hospital for eight days and laid up for 30 days before I could even walk properly. But I climbed back on a horse as soon as I could. Yes I was nervous to start with but soon felt at home walking, it was a while later before I felt I was ready for trot and only after a year wanted to and managed to canter.

Nothing wrong with being a beginner! My advice is to stick with the simple stuff, concentrate on getting used to your position on the horse, work on getting a good active walk, nice bends on corners, etc. Leave it till you get frustrated with not going faster and WANT to trot, the nerves will have been overtaken then, same with canter.

I started riding when I was 35, now 71, I had a fall early last year which tore the cartilage in the front of my pelvis - in hospital for eight days and laid up for 30 days before I could even walk properly. But I climbed back on a horse as soon as I could. Yes I was nervous to start with but soon felt at home walking, it was a while later before I felt I was ready for trot and only after a year wanted to and managed to canter.