Magnetic leg wraps for arthritic horse?

Gruntfuttock

Evil Enabler
Apr 5, 2007
Leighton Buzzard / Milton Keynes
I am trying to plan ahead in preparing Ella for the winter. She has arthritic knees, and i am assuming that , like human arthritis, she'll suffer more with them over the winter. Obviously she will be coming in at night and will be well wrapped-up, and she'll have a big comfy bed to stand / lie on.

Someone at my yard suggested magnetic wraps for her to wear when she is in overnight. Do these help with arthritis, are they a good idea, has anyone experience of using them, and are they better than bandages? I'm thinking of myself with that last one, really - I am not good at bandaging, and i am wary of putting them on too tight or something.

theyre quite simple but you could get someone knowledgeable to show you som you feel happy puttiong them on

there are also magnetic brushing boots, if you are used to putting boots on?
i had a livery that came with these, the owner had them for navicular/.arthritis

I used bioflow boots for mare when she splinted some years back, and was impressed with them, s I recall she was only supposed to wear them for a certain period of time, but of course I ignored that and she wore them when stabled, and sometimes for turn-out.

I think problem may be keeping wraps in position, if it's the knee you want to target specifically ( I cant even keep tubigrip in place on my own arthritic knee!!)...

Bandaging is ok, the trick is to not skimp on the gamgee underneath - helps spreads pressure load. An alternative I had considered this winter would have been these from premier equine -
http://www.premierequine.co.uk/acatalog/Magnetx_Therapy.html
Magnet and stable bandage in one!

My vet is not convinced by the magnetic aspect of such boots/wraps, more that the warmth created by them helps, so normal leg wraps would be just as beneficial. She has had great results with pulsed electromagnetic therapy but doesn't rate 'normal' magnets.