novice rider should I buy an arabian horse?

lindiak007

Jul 7, 2007
New York,USA
Hello,

So, I am a novice rider and thinking of buying a horse.

I know I should get a gelding, cca 10 Y old....with a calm temperament
As for a breed, I am not so sure....I know I should look at the personality of the horse. I intend to be recreational rider.

Let's tell you a bit about me:
My trainer says I have soft hands and soft legs, but I am strong (as for muscles). I am tall cca 5' 9,5" and 125 pounds. Sometimes I feel during the lessons that I do a rodeo instead of riding, the horses are trying my patiente It is always challanging, but I appreciate when I have a nice quiet lesson as well;-) and I can practice the technique.
I like nice transitions from trot to canter. I do not care if the horse is smaller or bigger or faster or slower, just the NICE transition is important for me. I guess I enjoy the speed if the horse as well.
I am very good at skiing, that was my N.1 sport before...(similar to horseriding as for speed position;-))

I have a stubborn dog and a stobborn husband - what I want to tell with this? => I could manage them both, actually I manage the dog;-) really ok. I taught him a lot tricks - slowly, with a game, so he has more fun.....I tend to be attached a lot to animals / people.

I am thinking about an Arabian horse, but my trainer and my very best friend who both rides cca 20 years, hate them.

A calm horse would be great for me as a novice rider, however I tend to get bored really quickly and need changes. So Arabian horse , known as high spirited could be pretty challenging for me opposite to calmer breed .[/size]

What do you think??? Any other breed?

Bms-1.jpg

I'm a novice but I went for a "Part-bred Arab"!;):D (ears are bigger and so are the brains:D: