Question for you...who dont use full livery.

FayeObs

Jul 20, 2008
Halifax
bradshawfriesians.webs.com
If you are going on holiday, what do you do with your horse?

Im thinking of setting up a horse sitting business around my area.

I have over 15 years of experience & used to compete. Ive had a 4 year break to concentrate on renovating my house. I just wanted to ask a few questions to see what people generally think?? So thanks for replying in advance xx

Would you feel comfortable having someone looking after your horse without qualifications? Or would it be better to have a horse management qualification of some sort?

What would you be prepared to pay? Looking at what other people who are doing this charge, the average cost is £20 one off fee per horse.. Holiday stable livery could be £15 p/day including, muck out, turn out, rug changes, feeding, feet picking, changing water. Field Livery, £8 per day, including, fly spray reapplied (if needed) rug change, check over twice a day, feed. ..And addtional tasks eg, farrier/vet. for a little extra. ...

Ridding if needed, (but when i had my horses, i was a little funny about people riding her as she was in one word.. crazy!!, so would expects to be a little sensitive to others riding their horses) All i do know is that when i had mine i found it hard to go on holiday and get back from work in time in winter to get my horse out of the field before dark.

Obviously people who pay for full/part time livery wouldnt need this service as they already have someone to look after it whilst on holiday

But what about people who have their horses at their house, want to go on holiday or need to work away or simply wants to have a break from doing chores everyday. Would you pay for this service???

Im also thinking about combining dog walking/sitting etc included.However, just wanted to know your thoughts as your the ones in the know!!

thanks for reading xxxxx xxxxx