Riding School Advice

CaroLiz

Jun 3, 2017
Hiya, hoping I could get some advice on here! I started riding lessons a few months ago, mainly twice per week. I had ridden a little before hand but no proper lessons. I am currently at university so had attended one riding school near my university which was great. When I returned home I found a school near my house and have been there for the past 2 months but have never been entirely content.

At the first school near my university they had great, responsive horses, were very positive in lessons along with constructive criticism. Began cantering quite quickly with them, as they said my rising trot was good and I had a naturally good seat.

When I began at the riding school closer to home, the horse I was put on, I was warned that my horse had a reputation of being quite difficult. They also told me I wasn't to ask to switch horse because it was up to me as the rider to learn to control him. On this horse, after 2 months of lessons on him, progress has been finally managing to trot around the school once without him taking off in a random direction. The instructor is also quite sharp, not mean, but it does leave me feeling quite inferior and unable to ask questions. They appear to take things much slower at pace, the other adults in my class were beginning to learn to canter after 2 years of lessons.

I have travelled a few times in the last few weeks to the riding school near my uni, it's a 40 minute drive from home but I do enjoy the lessons there much more and actually appear to make progress. Just wondering if anyone has any advice, is it better to learn on a more difficult horse at a slower pace, which I guess would ultimately make me a better rider, or progress quicker on an easier horse at my first school?

Sorry this is so long but I would so appreciate any advice!

Last edited: