Suspensory injuries and school work

MrA

Feb 8, 2012
You were really helpful when I questioned last time regarding this injury so thought I would try you all again, sorry!

So horse with large lesion in origin of suspensory. Vet has told owners school work is fine. He's doing 10 mins of walk and is being ridden. He's had his first shockwave.

Anyone who's had similar injuries can advise if a sand surface is a good idea with this sort of injury?

Last edited:
I've no experience of this so I'm just guessing here.

If it was my horse I'd want months of straight line hacking before I went near a school and even then I'd be wary and keep the work undemanding ie no tight turns, no collection or extension, no jumping, and build it up very gradually while monitoring closely. And that's assuming a good, well maintained surface, I wouldn't consider one that was deep, uneven, or unstable. Yes I probably am over cautious, but I prefer not to test to breaking point.

Reactions: MrA
I'm really concerned about the vets attitude with it all, surely a lesion could easily turn to full rupture fairly easily without proper care.

I think this is a when an owner has to make a decision on whether or not to follow vet advice, and indeed whether or not to keep that vet.

I’d be doing straight lines on a firm flat surface for the build up work, I’d imagine an unstable surface (sand or whatever) would put a little more strain on soft tissues as a soft surface will generally show a soft tissue injury up more than a hard surface in a work up. I’ll pull out my vet notes for horse owners book later and take a picture of the page on suspensory injury for you if you like?